Baylor University Faculty Senate Minutes Virtual Meeting 14 April 2020 3:30pm-5:00pm

Present: Sara Alexander, Cassy Burleson, Barbara Purdum-Cassidy, Holly Collins, Matt Cordon, Derek Dodson, Nathan Elkins, James Ellor, Renee Flippo, Brian Garner, Donna Haberman, Christopher Hansen, Beth Hultquist, Kristi Humphreys, Kathy Hurtt, Karen LeCompte, Michael Long, Jason MacGregor, Bill Neilson, Curt Nichols, Joyce Nuner, Maxey Parrish, Coretta Pittman, Tom Potts, Brian Raines, Denyse Rodgers, Keith Schubert, Carol Schuetz, Jennings Sheffield, Ann Shoemaker, Steven Sielaff, Kathy Steely, Josh Strakos, Mike Stroope, Lynn Tatum, Mark Taylor, Randy Umstead, Anzhong Wang, Stanley Wilfong

- I. Call to Order: Chair Brian Raines—3:30pm
- II. Invocation: Matt Cordon
- III. Presentation: Bear Care Survey (Sharra Hynes and Sinda Vanderpool)
 - Aim: to help students complete Spring 2020 successfully
 - Goal: retain as many students as possible for Fall 2020
 - trained 300+ coaches
 - serve 8,800 students: targeted outreach by email, texting, video at times; will push into Summer 2020 and up to 12th class day of Fall 2020
 - contact with students who responded to BearCare Survey 29 March-5 April; students who respond expressing some level of stress; 59% response rate
 - stresses: anxiety, depression, food insecurity, academic stress
 - week one: 7.000+ contacts with 5.000+ students

Presentation followed by brief Q & A:

- Q1: Will PPT be made available to the Senate and the Staff Council? Yes
- Q2: Can one still be designated a Coach? Yes, especially over Summer 2020
- Q3: Is a similar survey planned for faculty and staff? One such survey went out before the BearCare Survey
- IV. Appointment of Nominating Committee—Chair Brian Raines

Nominating Committee for 2020-2021 slate of Senate Officers: Senators Ellor, Hurtt, MacGregor, Maxile, Neilson, Pittman, Raines (Chair)

Discussion: None.

V. Reports.

- a. Provost's Office meeting—Chair Brian Raines
 - University making a \$16-17 million reduction to current fiscal year's budget; President's Council decisions were announced in the 14 April email from President Livingstone sent at 3:50pm; Includes:
 - o deferral or elimination of vacant faculty and staff positions
 - o reduction of Adjunct and Temporary Faculty
 - o deferral of new construction; Tidwell renovation will proceed as planned, funding already in place
 - o BU contributions to retirement fund reduced—details in President's email
 - Lecturers can halt process toward promotion if requested; decision on case by case basis

Discussion: Changes to BU contribution to retirement fund. Question raised: Is the reduction to the retirement contribution from 10.8% to 8% permanent or temporary.

Senator LeCompte moved that Senate authorize the Executive Committee to inquire of President's Council and Provost. whether reduction in retirement contribution is permanent or temporary. Senator Cordon seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

Senator Tatum made the motion to express: While the Faculty Senate recognizes the need to take temporary actions in light of the temporary crisis, the Faculty Senate advocates that all permanent changes in faculty compensation and academic procedures follow normal academic consultation standards as advocated by the Association of Governing Boards (AGB), the American Council on Education (ACE), and the American Association of University Professors (AAUP). Holly Collins seconded. Motion passes unanimously.

B. Raines suggests a Senate resolution in support the leadership of President and Provost. Rationale: the President and Provost and President's Council are working hard, making difficult decisions to preserve university's financial health. Senator Tatum moves the motion, Senator Cordon seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

Senator MacGregor requested that Senate express thanks to adjuncts at May meeting.

- b. Election Commission Report—Senator Long
 - In the 2020 Senate Election, 751 total votes were cast: School of Arts & Sciences 683, Robbins 60, School of Social Work 8.
 - Contests in only three schools (above); 14 nominees in contested races
 - Result: 11 new Senators on 2020-2021 roster
 - Expressed thanks to Election Commission members James Ellor and Mike Stroope; IT staff—Randy Woodruff, Brennon Arnold, Jamie Todd, who prepared

the Faculty Census and the online voting; also to Adrienne Conradt (Provost's Office) Senate Staff Assistant

VI. Adjournment: Senator Hansen moved to Adjourn. Senator Strakos seconded. 4:45pm Submitted by Senator Michael Long, Secretary