## Faculty Senate Resolution Thanking the Commission on Historic Campus Representations

Whereas on June 26, 2020, the Baylor University Board of Regents announced the unanimous approval of its Resolution on Racial Healing and Justice, acknowledging Baylor's historical connections to slavery and the Confederacy; and

Whereas the resolution established the Commission on Historic Campus Representations; and

**Whereas** the Commission was led by Co-Chairs Alicia D.H. Monroe, M.D.; Gary Mortenson, D.M.A.; and Walter Abercrombie, M.S. Ed.; and

Whereas Commission members consisted of Katie Adair, Joel Allison, Jayson Baldridge, Lexy Bogney, Michael Evans, Malcolm Foley, Cheryl Gochis, Dominique Hill, Sutton Houser, Trent Hughes, Sher Isada, Alan Lefever, Sandra Lené, Mark Lovvorn, Michael McFarland, Bill Neilson, Michael Parrish, Coretta Pittman, Mia Moody-Ramirez, Marcus Sedberry, Tyrha Lindsey-Warren, Doug Weaver, and Mya Ellington-Williams; and

Whereas the Commission issued its Final Report to the Board of Regents and the Baylor Administration in December 2020; and

Whereas the Board of Regents accepted the Final Report in February 2021 and released the Final Report to the public on March 23, 2021; now, therefore, be it

**Resolved**, that the Faculty Senate of Baylor University thanks Dr. Monroe, Dr. Mortenson, and Mr. Abercrombie for their leadership roles on this Commission; and be it

**Resolved,** that the Faculty Senate thanks the Commission for its extensive work in studying historic campus representations, assessing the implications of these representations, and making recommendations about how Baylor University should make redemptive and inclusive actions "both in the short term, to illustrate a commitment to change, and in the long term, to transform Baylor's campus in a manner that tells the full story of Baylor's history and honors all who contributed to the institution's success."

April 13, 2021