Baylor University Faculty Senate Minutes 6 Dec 2016 109 Rogers Engineering & Computer Science Bldg • 3:30 p.m.

Members Present: Senators Allman, Dwight; Baldridge, R.S.; Beal, Ron; Bolen, Bradley; Peterson, Billie for Burgess, Cynthia; Burleson, Debra; Cordon, Matt; Dixon, Andrea; Ellor, James; Farwell, Beth; Faucher, Mary Ann; Hultquist, Beth; Hurtt, Kathy; Johnston, Hope W; Long, Mark; Macgregor, Jason; McGlashan, Ann; Mencken, Kimberly; Morgan, Ron; Neilson, Bill; Newberry, Byron; Ostlund, Sandor; Parrish, Michael; Pounders, Steven; Raines, Brian; Robinson, Eric; Schubert, Keith; Sielaff, Steven; Souza-Fuertes, Lizbeth; Parrish, Maxey for Stone, Sara; Stroope, Michael; Supplee, Joan; Tsang, Jo-Ann; Umstead, Randall; Walden, Dan; Walter, Janelle; Wilcox, Walter; Wood, Randy M.; Wooddy, Margaret; and Staff Council Representative Lori McNamara

Members Absent: Senators Cook, Garrett and Edwards, Elise

I. Call to Order

Senate Chair Byron Newberry called the meeting to order at 3:31.

II. Invocation

Senator Michael Stroope offered an invocation.

III. Approval of Minutes: November 2016

Senator Robert Baldridge made a motion to approve the minutes for the Senate meeting of Nov 08, 2016; Senator Ron Beal seconded. The minutes were approved.

Following the approval of the minutes, Senate Chair Newberry introduced guests to the meeting: Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Policy James Bennighof, Student Body President Lindsey Bacque, and Student Government Liason to the Faculty Senate Paige Hardy.

IV. Jim Bennighof - Faculty Annual Evaluation

Vice Provost Bennighof delivered copies of the latest updates to the new Baylor University Annual Faculty Performance Review, explaining that the impetus for the new review was a based on a recommendation from the Faculty Senate that annual reviews reflect service, also termed academic citizenship. This recommendation was initially submitted as a letter

composed by the Academic Citizenship Committee and approved unanimously by the senate during the meeting of April 8, 2014. The format of a new Annual Faculty Performance Review has since undergone significant changes initiated by the Provost's office, including a document titled "Planning for the Year Ahead".

Drafts of the new Annual Faculty Performance Review were shared with the Faculty Senate in May of 2016, implementation began in the summer of 2016 during the Academic Leadership seminar, and the planning portion of the document, will be in use during evalutions in January 2017. The Vice Provost then answered questions from senators.

V. Report of Faculty Senate Task Force on Student Course Evaluations

Senator Brian Raines presented as the chair of the Faculty Senate Task Force on Student Course Evaluations. The charge of the Task Force was "to evaluate the effectiveness of the student evaluation questionnaire", and "to suggest changes or modifications, if any, to the evaluation form if it will enhance the value of the feedback received". The Task Force looked at how the evaluations were used at Baylor and how other schools use student evaluation questionnaires. They also surveyed departmental chairs at Baylor regarding the questionnaires, noting that the top response was a call to bring back paper evaluations. For some chairs the student questionnaires currently serve as the only instrument to evaluate faculty teaching.

The Task Force delivered a document to the faculty senate outlining the following four proposals:

- Proposal for Incentivizing Completion of Student Course Evaluations
- Proposal for Revisions to the Student Course Evaluation Instrument
- Proposal for Electronic Peer Course Evaluations
- Proposal for Mid-Term Student Course Evaluations

The presentation was followed by a senate discussion, raising issues such as the current misuse of the instrument as a primary teaching evaluation, the need for policy changes directing the appropriate use of the instrument, and the need for a consistent usage of the instrument across campus. The discussion ended with a suggestion to revisit the subject in January with a possible expansion of the Task Force charge to address the issues raised.

VI. Appointment of Senate Election Commission

The Senate Executive Committee submitted a proposal nominating Senators Kimberly Mencken and Bradley Bolen to serve on the 2017 Election Commission with Senate Secretary Steven Pounders. Senator Baldridge

moved to approve the proposal, and was seconded by Senator Supplee. The motion was carried unanimously.

Senator Dwight Allman, noting that he would be on leave during the spring semester, made a motion to empower Professor Curt Nichols from the same department as his substitute for the remainder of the academic year. The motion was seconded by Senator Umstead and approved unanimously.

VII. Executive Session

At this time, the Faculty Senate conducted an executive session.

VI. Adjournment

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Senator Baldridge and seconded by Senator Beal. The motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:11.

Respectfully submitted,

Steven Pounders Recording Secretary