Baylor University Faculty Senate Minutes 11 Oct 2016 109 Rogers Engineering & Computer Science Bldg • 3:30 p.m.

Members Present: Senators Allman, Dwight; Baldridge, R.S.; Beal, Ron; Bolen, Bradley; Burgess, Cynthia; Burleson, Debra; Cook, Garrett; Cordon, Matt; Dixon, Andrea; Edwards, Elise; Ellor, James; Farwell, Beth; Faucher, Mary Ann; Hultquist, Beth; Hurtt, Kathy; Johnston, Hope W.; Long, Mark; Macgregor, Jason; McGlashan, Ann; Mencken, Kimberly; Morgan, Ron; Neilson, Bill; Newberry, Byron; Steely, Kathryn for Ostlund, Sandor; Parrish, Michael; Pounders, Steven; Hagelstein, Paul for Raines, Brian; Robinson, Eric; Schubert, Keith; Mazé, Louis for Souza-Fuertes, Lizbeth; Steven Sielaff; Stone, Sara; Stroope, Michael; Supplee, Joan; Tsang, Jo-Ann; Umstead, Randall; Walden, Dan; Walter, Janelle; Wilcox, Walter; Wood, Randy M.; Wooddy, Margaret; and Staff Council Representative Lori McNamara

Members Absent: All senators present or represented by substitutes

I. Call to Order

Senate Chair Byron Newberry called the meeting to order at 3:31.

II. Invocation

Senator Andrea Dixon offered an invocation.

III. Approval of Minutes: September 2016

Following notation of minor corrections, Senator Robert Baldridge made a motion to approve the minutes for the Senate meeting of Sep 13, 2016; Senator Ron Beal seconded. The minutes were approved.

IV. Ongoing Business

- a. Senator Byron Newberry noted that the planned meeting with Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Policy James Bennighof to discuss the new Annual Faculty Performance Review Form would be delayed for a later meeting of the Faculty Senate.
- b. Senator Newberry reported meeting with the Faculty Senate Task Force on Student Course Evaluations in order to clarify the charge of the task force. Some discussion followed with Senate members of the task force regarding the scope and direction of the charge. Executive Vice President and Provost Greg Jones, present for a later executive session, assured the Senate that the task force was charged with making recommendations with no pre-determined outcome.

V. Presidential Search Listening Sessions

Senators Andrea Dixon and Bill Neilson, the faculty representatives on the Presidential Search Committee, encouraged the Faculty Senate to complete the listening sessions with faculty that were planned for each senator at the September meeting. They also announced a special listening session for the Faculty Senate input planned for October 18 at 3:30 in this location.

The Presidential Search Committee has so far conducted listening sessions with a number of Baylor campus constituents including the Staff Council, deans, chairs, program directors, and students. In addition to listening sessions, the online input form has generated over 600 responses. The Chair of the Presidential Search Committee, Bob Brewton, submitted a Request for Qualifications to search firms, and the committee had narrowed these to three firms.

VI. Executive Session

At this point, the Faculty Senate meeting continued in an Executive Session with Executive Vice President and Provost Greg Jones, Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Reagan Ramsower, Chair of the Baylor Board of Regents Ronald Murff, and Regent David Harper.

VII. Adjournment

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Senator Robert Baldridge and seconded by Senator Kathryn Steely. The motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:45.

Respectfully submitted,

Steven Pounders Recording Secretary