Baylor University

Faculty Senate Newsletter

May, 1996

The 1995-96 Faculty

Senate officers and member-

ship are as follows:

Chair:

Kathy Hillman

(Libraries)

Chair-elect: Jeter Basden

(Arts and Sciences)

Secretary:

Rusty Pippin

(Education)

Publicity:

Mary Massirer

(Arts and Sciences)

Arts and Sciences:

Dawn Adams

Linda Adams

Robert Baird

Lewis Barker

Tommye Lou Davis

John Fox

Thomas Goforth

William Jensen

Phillip Johnson

David Longfellow

Daniel McGee

Howard Rolf

Sara Stone

Patricia Wallace

Kathy Whipple

Business:

Donald Edwards

Karen Johnson

Michael Robinson

William Thomas

James Tipton

Carres Tipton

G.W.K. Willis

Education:

Betty Jo Monk

James Wiley

Engineering and Computer

Science:

Donald Farris

Law School:

Elizabeth Youngdale

Music:

Christopher Buddo

Jerry Gordon

Ray Luper

Nursing:

Linda Garner

Truett Seminary:

A. J. (Chip) Convers

from Kathy Hillman:

Even if my calendar hadn't told me another academic year was winding down, I recognized the signs as I walked out of my office, through the library, and across campus this morning. The slightest noise in Moody's public areas generated dirty looks from the greater-thannormal number studying. High school juniors, accompanied by dutiful moms and dads, moved down sidewalks, maps in hand, eager to discover Baylor through Spring Premier. I overheard two coeds, one expressing regrets over grades that should have been or at least could have been better. "If I could only spell," she moaned, "I would've made an A in English. I wish I had worked harder in spelling a long time ago." The other responded, "I'm not sure what grade I'll make, but I'm satisfied. I did the best I could."

After lengthy March and April meetings and what should prove to be one or two very full agendas in May, I know the Senate will complete the year feeling, "We did the best we could with what we could." We especially did our best when we unanimously recommended that Barbara Jordan be awarded an honorary degree post-humously.

While the Senate does not normally meet during the summer, work will continue on the Faculty Handbook, BU-PPM, and other committee issues. The new Senators and Senate Executive Committee will take office following the Fall General Faculty Meeting. Below are a few of the issues discussed and recommendations made since the last newsletter. Copies of the complete minutes appear on the Senate's web page.

<u>Faculty Conflict of Interest Policy</u> The Senate approved the Faculty Conflict of Interest Policy prepared by a committee composed of Bill Thomas (Chair), Jerry Gordon, Howard Rolf, Patricia Wallace, Jim Wiley, Pat Wilson, and Basil Thomson (Consultant) and recommended its adoption by the University. (Contact any Senator for a copy)

<u>Faculty Evaluation and Compensation (Merit Pay)</u> The Senate recommended that notification of the rate of merit pay be provided by

October 15 so that if the merit pay rate is 1% or lower, less elaborate faculty evaluation procedures may be conducted if an academic unit so desires.

<u>Tenure Notification</u> The Senate has recommended that tenure decisions be communicated as quickly as possible and that the notification be done in person by the dean and/or department chair. The Senate has also recommended that the language of the official letter be rewritten to reflect Baylor's Christian perspective within legal parameters.

Final Form of Policy on Excused Absences and Make-up Exams "The student bears the responsibility for the effect which absences may have upon class participation, announced and unannounced examinations, written assignments, reports, papers and other means of evaluating performance in a course. At the same time, if a student's required participation in a university-sponsored activity causes the student to be absent from class, and if the student seeks to make arrangements prior to the absence to complete scheduled assignments, the faculty member is expected to work with the student to allow for the completion of classwork and assignments.

"Students are usually allowed to make up classwork and/ or tests missed because of serious illness or accident or death in the family. Staff members in the Office of Student Life will make every effort to inform the faculty member concerning class absences on behalf of the student in these instances."

Letters of Appointment and the Baylor University Personnel Policy Manual (BU-PPM) Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Don Schmeltekopf discussed the Letters of Appointment with the Faculty Senate. Since the Manual constitutes part of the faculty contract, the Senate is carefully reviewing recommendations made by an ad hoc committee appointed to revise the document. Senator Don Edwards is a member of the ad hoc committee. In some cases, the Senate will recommend major revisions to University policies, including those on dismissal and grievances.

The following faculty have been elected to three-year terms on the Senate.

Arts and Sciences:

Nancy Chinn Jay Losey Joe Yelderman

Business:

Elizabeth Davis Chet Miller

Education:

Duane Knudson

Engineering and Computer Science:

Don Farris

Law:

Elizabeth Youngdale

Libraries:

Kathy Hillman

Truett Seminary:

A. J. (Chip) Conyers