Minutes Faculty Senate Supplementary Meeting January 31, 1989

Present:

Paul Armitstead, Lewis Barker, James Bennighof, William Brown, Harry Elzinga, William Ghee, Kent Gilbreath, Nancy Goodloe, Jerry Gordon, Maxine Hart, Mary Herrington, Dan Jennings, Naymond Keathley, Ronald King, Judith Lusk, Larry Lyon, Manuel Ortuno, Jerry Reynolds, Stuart Rosenbaum, Avery Sharp, Adrian Vaughan, Dianna Vitanza

Absent:

Anita Baker, Michael Cassell, James Curry, Elizabeth A. Farren, Owen Lind, Michael Morrison, Edwin Oxford, Bob Patterson, David Pennington, Raymond Read

The meeting of the Faculty Senate began at 3:30 p.m., on January 31, 1989, in the Blume Conference Center. Dr. Gilbreath opened the meeting with a prayer. The minutes were approved as mailed.

The chair announced:

- the tuition remission and tuition exchange proposal was received by President Reynolds and that a response would be forthcoming.
- the Faculty Senate Committee on Committees will need to have three persons selected to serve by the Faculty Senate next year. At the next meeting suggestions for replacements will be received.
- the issue of tenure track lecturers has been resolved with a meeting held between Dr. Belew, Dean Cooper and Dean Scott
- a spreadsheet on Faculty Senate election procedures was submitted by Faculty Senate secretary, Jerry Reynolds with the request that corrections be referred to him prior to the next meeting.
- the conflict of interest forms received from Dr. Reynolds require further discussion and will be added to the February agenda with the goal to approve/disapprove the forms or submit an alternative to the President for consideration.
- a public relations effort to communicate the activities of the Faculty Senate will begin within the next thirty days and may include: a newsletter to the faculty, articles in Items, Lariat articles, and a questionnaire to the faculty requesting input on issues to be addressed by next year's Senate.

The Faculty Senate discussed reports from the University Research Committee, Academic Environment Committee, Academic Freedom and Responsibility Committee, the Faculty Development Committee, and the Physical Facilities Committee. The Senate voted to accept/not accept the recommendations of the committees with the following results outlined in Appendix A to these minutes.

On motion and second, the Faculty Senate unanimously voted to refer the pre-tenure form to the Tenure Committee for revisions.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jerry Reynolds Secretary