Minutes Faculty Senate March 21, 1989

Present:

Paul Armitstead, Anita Baker, Lewis Barker, James Bennighof, William Brown, Harry Elzinga, Elizabeth Farren, Tom Featherston, William Ghee, Kent Gilbreath, Maxine Hart, Mary Herrington, Dan Jennings, Naymond Keathley, Judith Lusk, Larry Lyon, Edwin Oxford, Bob Patterson, David Pennington, Raymond Read, Jerry Reynolds, Stuart Rosenbaum, Avery Sharp, Adrian Vaughan, Dianna Vitanza

Absent:

Michael Cassell, James Curry, Nancy Goodloe, Ronald King, Owen Lind, Manuel Ortuno

The meeting of the Faculty Senate began at 3:30 p.m., on March 21, 1989, in the Blume Conference Center. Dr. Gilbreath opened the meeting with a prayer. The minutes were approved as mailed.

Dr. Netherton, Chief of Staff, and Dr. Terry Maness, Finance Chairman/Business School joined Dr. Kent Gilbreath in the discussion of the proposed retirement plan. The consensus of the Senate was one of full support for the proposed retirement document.

Announcements began with the recognition of Dr. Jerry Reynolds for the article about his work in the Communications Department published in the Baylor Line. The response by Jim Cole concerning faculty outreach to alumni was enthusiastic and included a request for a list of good communicators for the purpose of scholarly lectures to the Alumni. A response from Bill Hinson concerning political debates at Chapel/Forum has not yet been received.

The Faculty Senate requested that the Chair draft a resolution concerning a computerized degree audit program for consideration at the April meeting. Such a system would prohibit students from taking classes in which a pre-requisite is required and has not been taken. An update from the University Research Committee concerning the acceptance of Federal Funds clarified the current limitations. The basic criteria for acceptance is based on the provision of a service in exchange for the funding. The chair announced that a final draft of the Faculty Evaluation System will be sent to the President's office in the near future.

Results of Senate elections are as follows:

In the College of Arts and Sciences--

Marianna Busch - Chemistry (three-year term) Richard Riley - Political Science (three-year term) David Kopplin - Psychology (three-year term) Ray Cannon - Mathematics (three-year term) Debra Andrist - Modern Foreign Languages (three-year term) Daniel Wivagg - Biology (two-year term) Don Hardcastle - Physics (two-year term) Allan Richards - Communication Disorders (one-year term) In the School of Education-- Douglas Rogers In the School of Business--Terry Maness Larry Chonko J.T. Rose

The chair announced that a charrette has helped finalize the work of the Core Curriculum Committee. A document pertaining to the results of this study has been drafted for eventual transmittal to the President.

The Senate was encouraged to send thank you letters to Dr. Gilbreath for transmittal to individuals and committees that have been helpful to the Senate.

Trends in higher education were noted, with doctorates awarded to minority persons.

A discussion of the good work of the International Exchange Program Committee was held. This committee has encouraged all Baylor faculty, on an individual basis, to promote the recruitment of foreign students to Baylor.

The pre-tenure process/pre-tenure review form will be submitted to the Senate in April for review.

Senate terms of office were discussed with a draft forthcoming at the April meeting pertaining to the ability to hold two consecutive threeyear terms. Also presented will be the possible change of the office of treasurer to the office of public relations.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Server Kermolds

Secretary