## Minutes Faculty Senate April 18, 1989

## Present:

P. Armistead, L. Barker, J. Bennighof, W. Brown, J. Curry, H. Elzinga, E. Farren, W. Ghee, K. Gilbreath, J. Gordon, M. Hart, M. Herrington, D. Jennings, N. Keathley, R. King, O. Lind, J. Lusk, L. Lyon, T. Featherston, M. Ortuno, E. Oxford, B. Patterson, R. Read, J. Reynolds, S. Rosenbaum, A. Sharp, A. Vaughan, D. Vitanza

## Absent:

A. Baker, M. Cassell, N. Goodloe, D. Pennington

The meeting of the Faculty Senate began at 3:30 p.m., on April 18, 1989, in the Blume Conference Center. Dr. Naymond Keathley opened the meeting with a prayer. The minutes were approved as mailed.

The Chair, following his visit with Dr. Reynolds, communicated the following to the Faculty Senate:

- a. The Faculty Evaluation System will be resolved before the Fall Semester begins.
- b. The study of merit pay will be pursued and ideas from the faculty are requested.
- c. The computerized degree audit system will be studied and will have a projected implementation date of Spring, 1990.
- d. Federal Funds, with reasonable limitations, may be pursued by Baylor professors.
- e. The Conflict of Interest Policy does not need to be pursued by the Senate due to its present inclusion in the Personnel Policy Manual.
- f. The new Retirement Program will be implemented by Fall, 1989.

The Chair addressed the written communications with President Reynolds eliciting the following results:

- a. Approval of funding for foreign mission service for a faculty member.
  - Approval of putting benchmarks on existing intramural areas and current pathways to establish a walking/jogging track.
- b. The Contract addenda will be retained, but shortened. Concern was expressed by the Faculty Senate that a change in mid-year of the contract within the Personnel Policy Manual would alter faculty members signed yearly contracts.

The letter from Dr. Netherton concerning the Health Care Program was discussed with the appreciation of the Senate voiced concerning Dr. Netherton's wish to include the Senate's involvement in future changes in this program.

Four President's Faculty Forums (two in the Fall and two in the Spring) have been scheduled for 1989-90.

Final election results for the 1989-1990 Faculty Senate were announced:

In the College of Arts and Sciences--

Marianna Busch - Chemistry (three-year term)
Richard Riley - Political Science (three-year term)
David Kopplin - Psychology (three-year term)
Ray Cannon - Mathematics (three-year term)
Debra Andrist - Modern Foreign Languages (three-year term)
Daniel Wivagg - Biology (two-year term)
Don Hardcastle - Physics (two-year term)
Allan Richards - Communication Disorders (one-year term)

In the School of Education-- Douglas Rogers

In the School of Business--

Terry Maness Larry Chonko J.T. Rose

The Chair announced that a list of issues addressed by the Senate this year would be sent to all Baylor Faculty along with a request that the faculty suggest issues to be addressed by the Senate during the coming year.

Committee reports were considered as follows:

- 1. On motion and second, the Faculty Senate agreed to review the pre-tenure form submitted by the University Tenure Committee. After changes were made to enhance the form, the Faculty Senate voted to recommend the amended document as a replacement of the present pre-tenure review form.
- 2. On motion and second, the Faculty Senate accepted the recommendations of the Committee on Committees Report with the suggestion that the means of selection of the Athletic Council be reviewed and reported upon.
- On motion and second, the Faculty Senate accepted the suggestion submitted by the Ad Hoc Committee pertaining to Fees charged to faculty dependents attending Baylor. The Ad Hoc Committee suggested that no action be taken pertaining to changing the university's policy concerning fees charged to spouses and dependents for enrolling in academic courses.

On motion and second, the proposed amendments to the Senate Constitution and By-Laws were accepted by the Faculty Senate. (See Attachment)

The consideration of publishing a Faculty Senate newsletter next year was discussed and agreed upon and the decision to complete the discussion of proposed resolutions at the May 9 meeting was unanimous.

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m. with the decision of the Faculty Senate to extend an invitation to all new 1989-90 Faculty Senators to attend the May 9 meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

Jerry Reynolds

Secretary