## **Faculty Senate Minutes**

April 12, 2011 • Cashion 111 3:30 p.m.

Members Present: Senators Baker, Erich; Baker, Lori; Baldridge, R. S.; Beal, Ron; Beard, DeAnna Toten; Beck, Rosalie; Blackwell, Frieda; Cannon, Raymond; Claybrook, Doug; Duhrkopf, Richard; Harvey, Barry; Hanks, Tom; Hurtt, David; Johnsen, Susan; Jordan, Mary Ann; Long, Michael; Losey, Jay; McKinney, Timothy; Madden, Stan; Myers, Dennis; Nuebert, Mitchell; Nunley, Patricia; Odegaard, Tom; ; Patteson, Rita; Patton, Jim; Parrish, Michael (substituting in Spring 2011 for David Longfellow); Sharp, Pat; Shoaf, Mary Margaret; Spain, Rufus; Still, Todd; Stone, Sara; Supplee, Joan; Walter, Janelle

Members Absent: Senators Beckwith, Frank; Paschal, John

#### I. Call to Order

Chair Cannon called the Senate to order at 3:31 p.m.

#### II. Invocation

Senator Beck offered an invocation.

## III. Approval of Minutes

Senator Baldridge moved that March 2011 minutes be approved as distributed. After Senator McKinney noted a typographical error, the Senate unanimously approved the minutes.

### IV. Old Business

#### **A.** SING Policies and Procedures

After a word of introduction from Kevin Jackson, Elizabeth Palacios, Dean for Student Development, and Matt Burchett, Director of Student Activities, gave a presentation on to the Senate SING policies and procedures. Policies for All-University SING were distributed to the Senators via email attachment in advanced of the meeting.

A number of Senators voiced concern about SING's rehearsal hours and the monitoring thereof. The presenters assured the Senate that the students would be held accountable to the written policies and that they welcome contact from Senators.

#### **B.** Committee on Status of Lecturers

The Senate expressed its profound appreciation to Ann McGlashan for her work on policy and procedures for lecturers at Baylor. Senator Duhrkopf moved that the Senate affirm the policy and procedures for lecturers as written and distributed. Senator Beck seconded the motion. Senator Claybrook sought clarification regarding the participation of lecturers on faculty search committees. Chair Cannon indicated that he would speak with Jim Bennighof regarding such.

## **C.** Attendance Policy

Chair Cannon reported that the federal government is beginning to scrutinize more carefully for-profit universities. New governmental regulations require that any university-wide attendance policies be consistently applied and enforced. Baylor University administration would like to do away with a university-wide attendance policy and to move to policies determined by the academic units. Senator Duhrkopf moved that the Senate endorse the attendance policy as distributed. Senator Baldridge seconded the motion. Senators offered Chair Cannon suggestions regarding the wording, but affirmed the overall contents and tone of the policy.

## **D.** Senate Elections

The Senate affirmed the election results in the College of Arts and Sciences. New Senators from the College of Arts and Sciences are: Dwight Allman, Garrett Cook, Mark Taylor, and Jo-Ann Tsang. Other new Senators include: Debra Burleson, Byron Newberry, Cindy Riemenschneider, Randy Wood, and Gaynor Yancey. The following Senators were eligible for and elected to serve another term: Barry Harvey, David Hurtt, Rita Patteson, Todd Still, and Janelle Walter.

# **E.** Strategic Planning

The process will conclude April 30<sup>th</sup> so that a report can be finalized.

# **F.** Alternate Promotion Policy

Chair Cannon thanked Past-Chair Myers and the Executive Committee for their work with the Administration on this policy. Eight people in four different units were promoted as a result of the Senate's efforts, Chair Cannon reported.

### V. Committee/Liaison Reports

- A. Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (Myers)—The Committee will expand its function to include curriculum review and approval.
- B. Academic Freedom (Sharp)—No report
- C. Enrollment Management (Beck)—No report
- D. Student Life (Stone)—No report
- E. Liaison Reports
  - i. Council of Deans (Cannon)—Chair Cannon reported that a committee in charge of classroom renovation has decided to renovate three classrooms in Tidwell and four in Castelaw. The Chair reported that Tommye Lou Davis spoke about the Baylor Network in the Dean's meeting. The Chair indicated that he continued to communicate with the Administration regarding the

Baylor Alumni Association. Chair Cannon also noted that the Administration continued work on a fellowships and externally-funded leaves policy. Finally, the Chair noted that Dean Kelly will be stepping down at the end of the 2011-12 academic year.

- ii. Athletic Council (Blackwell)—At a recent meeting, the NCAA's action relative to Perry Jones was discussed, as was the athletes' graduation rate.
- iii. Personnel, Benefits, Compensation (Madden)—No report
- iv. Personnel Policies (Beal/Nunley)—No report
- v. Admission (Harvey)—The only numbers that are not up are acceptances and the size of the provisional class. The SAT of the provisional class is approximately twenty-two (22) points ahead of last year.
- vi. Staff Council (Patton)—Elections are complete. Chair: Paulette Edward; Vice-Chair Marilyn McKinney. The Council is working on voting revisions.

#### VI. New Business

A. Revisions in the Honor Code

Senator Durkhopf moved that the revised honor code be approved. Senator Beck seconded. The Senate was unanimous in its approval of the motion.

B. Parking decals

Children of faculty and staff who are Baylor students are not meant to park in Faculty/Staff parking. The Chair suggested that this policy become more widely known.

- C. The President's State of the University Address is to be held on April 20<sup>th</sup>.
- D. The Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate is: Erich Baker, Rosalie Beck, Raymond Cannon, David Hurtt, Susan Johnsen (Chair), Michael Long, Timothy McKinney, and Rita Patteson. They will bring recommendations to the Senate at its May meeting.

#### VIII. Adjournment

Chair Cannon adjourned the Senate meeting with unanimous approval at 5:20 p.m.